TL;DR: Premium Polish vs Accessible Mid-Market
FineDine and MenuTiger occupy different tiers of the digital menu market. FineDine targets premium operators (fine-dining restaurants, boutique hotels, upscale cafés) with tablet menus, AI translation across up to 40 languages, customer CRM, and automated marketing. List pricing starts at $18/month (Starter, billed annually) and there's no free tier. MenuTiger targets casual operators (quick-service restaurants, cafés, food trucks doing QR-driven ordering) with strong QR design customization, an AI menu builder, and a free tier (capped at 49 items, 200 monthly QR orders).
Operators comparing these two are usually deciding between 'premium experience worth the price' and 'accessible QR ordering with growth room.' The choice maps almost entirely to your concept positioning (fine-dining vs casual) rather than to feature parity. Disclosure: I'm Ahmad Tayyem, founder of Menujo. I will set out what each one actually does, and where a display-only menu like Menujo fits instead.
FineDine vs MenuTiger Quick Comparison
Where each platform sits in the market
| Feature | FineDine | MenuTiger |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | No | Yes: 49 items, 200 QR orders/mo |
| Lowest paid | $18/mo list (Starter, annual) | $17/mo (Regular) |
| Premium tier | $82/mo list (Premium, annual) | $119/mo (Premium) |
| Tablet menus | Yes: 5 tablet menus included | Yes (runs on your own tablets) |
| Multi-language | AI translation, up to 40 languages | Multi-language on all plans |
| Customer CRM | Yes (all plans; entry plan keeps last 10 guests) | No named CRM on pricing page |
| AI menu builder | Yes | Yes |
| QR design customization | Basic | Strong (built on QR Tiger) |
| Customer base | 3,000+ venues in 75+ countries | Primarily SMB |
| Best for | Fine dining, hotels, upscale cafés | QSR, cafés, casual restaurants |
FineDine: The Premium Bet
What you get on the Starter plan ($18/month list, annual)
Per FineDine's public pricing, this tier covers 100 menu items, 1 menu language and currency, QR-code menus plus 5 tablet menus, allergen and nutrition info, dine-in order-and-pay covering 20 tables, and tip collection. The tablet menus are the differentiator: FineDine is built around the iPad-on-the-table experience common in upscale dining.
What Premium ($82/month list, annual) adds
The jump to Premium is significant: multiple menu languages instead of one (AI translation across up to 40 languages), unlimited orders per month, your own domain for the website builder, and the full guest CRM with AI segmentation. The AI website builder, a basic CRM (last 10 guests), and social-media auto-posting are already on the entry plan. For a fine-dining restaurant catering to international tourists in a city like Dubai or Barcelona, multi-language support alone often justifies the upgrade. Manually translating a menu into 5+ languages is slow work on every update; FineDine automates it.
Where FineDine wins
Three scenarios: (1) you operate a tablet-menu restaurant where iPads on the table are part of the experience (common in upscale steakhouses, Asian fine dining, hotel restaurants); (2) you cater to international tourists and need real multi-language support without manual translation work; (3) you want a CRM and automated marketing built into the menu platform rather than stitched together with separate tools. FineDine's polish is genuine: the menu UI feels more premium than MenuTiger's.
Where FineDine doesn't fit
The lack of a free tier is a real friction for operators who want to evaluate before committing. The $18-$82/month list range is mid-priced compared to general menu platforms but expensive for use cases that don't need the tablet integration or AI translation. A 50-table restaurant needs far more than the 5 included tablet menus, and FineDine does not publish a per-tablet price beyond that allowance (see FineDine's current pricing). And the polish that works for fine-dining can feel over-built for casual concepts.
MenuTiger: The Mid-Market Standard
What you get on the free tier
MenuTiger's Freemium plan covers 1 store, 10 tables, 7 categories with 7 items each (49 items max), 200 QR-driven orders per month (plus 250 website orders), AI menu builder, and multi-language support. Payments on the free tier are limited to cash and Stripe (see MenuTiger's current pricing). The 49-item cap is real: a full restaurant menu can outgrow it quickly.
What the paid plans add
Regular at $17/month removes the item cap, covers up to 2 stores, and adds PayPal and Adyen alongside Stripe. Advanced at $46/month adds a kitchen display system. Premium at $119/month is for white-label deployments. Plans are tiered by store count (Regular up to 2, Advanced up to 4, Premium up to 5), so a 5-location chain needs Premium at $119/month, versus FineDine's per-location Premium list price of $82/month ($410/month for five locations).
Where MenuTiger wins
Three scenarios: (1) you're a QSR or casual concept where customers order from their phones or at the counter (MenuTiger is purpose-built for this); (2) you want to test the platform before paying (the free tier covers 49 items, which is enough for a basic menu); (3) you value QR design customization (colors, dot styles, custom logo in the QR center). MenuTiger inherits this from QR Tiger.
Where MenuTiger doesn't fit
The free-tier item cap pushes larger menus onto paid plans. MenuTiger does not state whether its menu translation is automatic or entered by you, so check before counting on AI-generated translations (see MenuTiger's current pricing). And the platform is over-built if you don't actually need ordering: you're paying for ordering capabilities you may never use.
Annual Cost Comparison
Illustrative single-location example, realistic feature usage
| Platform | Software/year | Tablet hardware | Payment processing | Total year 1 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FineDine Starter (annual, list) | $216 | ~$1,500 (5 used iPads, estimate) | varies (third-party) | ~$1,716 + processing |
| FineDine Premium (annual, list) | $984 | ~$1,500 (5 iPads, estimate) | varies | ~$2,484 + processing |
| MenuTiger Regular (annual) | $173.40 | $0 (tablets optional, runs on your own hardware) | varies (Stripe, PayPal or Adyen) | $173.40 + processing |
| MenuTiger Advanced (annual) | $469.20 | $0 (tablets optional, runs on your own hardware) | varies | $469.20 + processing |
| Menujo Pro (display only) | $70 | $0 | varies (Square reader $0-$59) | $70-$129 + processing |
When to Choose FineDine
Three scenarios where FineDine is genuinely the right answer.
1. You operate a fine-dining or upscale-casual restaurant
Tablet menus on every table are part of the dining experience at this tier. The polished UI, the CRM tracking repeat guests, the automated wine-pairing suggestions, the allergen flagging: these are features that matter at price points where guests expect premium service. FineDine reports 3,000+ venues in 75+ countries, and its product is built for this segment.
2. You need AI translation across many languages
For restaurants in tourist-heavy cities (Dubai, Bangkok, Barcelona, Tokyo) where guests speak 5+ different languages, FineDine's AI translation (up to 40 languages, with multiple menu languages on the Growth and Premium tiers) is an efficient solution. Manually translating a 50-item menu into 5 languages is slow work; FineDine automates it. For a busy tourist venue, the saved labor can offset the cost of the higher tier ($42 to $82/month list, annual).
3. You want CRM + marketing automation built in
FineDine's Growth and Premium tiers include AI guest segmentation, and every tier includes social-media auto-posting. For a restaurant building a repeat-customer business (loyalty programs, special-occasion outreach, win-back campaigns), having this in the menu platform avoids stitching together a separate CRM. The trade-off: it's a less powerful CRM than dedicated tools (Mailchimp + Klaviyo + a loyalty app) but the integration with menu data is meaningful.
When to Choose MenuTiger
Three scenarios where MenuTiger fits better than FineDine.
1. You're a QSR, casual restaurant, or food truck
FineDine's polish (tablet menus, CRM, automated marketing) is over-built for fast service. MenuTiger's QR-driven ordering with menu and payment integration is purpose-built for the casual segment. Pricing is more accessible at $17/month and the free tier lets you test the workflow before committing.
2. You want to start free and grow into paid
FineDine has no free tier. MenuTiger lets you launch with 49 items and 200 monthly QR orders at $0, validate the workflow, then upgrade to Regular when you outgrow it. For operators who want to test before paying, MenuTiger is the only one of the two with a permanent free plan.
3. You don't need tablet menus
If your service model is customer-on-phone or counter-ordering, you don't need iPads on tables. FineDine bundles tablet menus into every plan whether you use them or not; MenuTiger's plans are priced around stores, tables and QR orders instead, so you're not paying for capabilities you won't use.
The Third Option: When You Need Display-Only
The unspoken truth about both FineDine and MenuTiger: they're both ordering platforms with menu features bundled in. If your restaurant doesn't actually need customers placing orders from their phones, you're paying for capabilities that go unused.
Three signals you're in the display-only lane:
- Customers order verbally (server, counter, drive-through window), not from their phones
- Your delivery flow goes through aggregators (UberEats, DoorDash, Grubhub, regional equivalents), not your own ordering platform
- You take payment at a counter or via a separate card reader, not embedded in the menu platform
If two or more match, both FineDine and MenuTiger are over-built. Menujo sits in the display-only category: free for one menu with up to 50 items across 10 categories and 7 days of menu-view analytics, $7/month (or $70/year) for 10 menus with 250 items each, 60 days of analytics, and custom themes without the Menujo footer. Pair with an independent card reader (Square, SumUp, Stripe Terminal; a Square reader costs $0 to $59, and Square's free plan charges 2.6% + 15¢ per in-person payment with no contract) and the software cost stays under $10 a month, plus processing fees.
For a comprehensive comparison covering all major platforms in this category, see our 7-platform breakdown. For fine-dining-specific guidance, see our fine-dining setup guide; for cafés and casual concepts, see our cafés guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the difference between FineDine and MenuTiger?
FineDine is a premium tablet-menu platform targeting fine-dining and hotels, starting at $18/month list (annual) with no free tier. MenuTiger is a QR-driven ordering platform with a free tier (49 items, 200 QR orders/month) and paid tiers from $17/month. They serve different market segments (FineDine for upscale concepts, MenuTiger for casual and QSR) and overlap only minimally.
Does FineDine have a free tier?
No. FineDine's lowest plan lists at $18/month on annual billing (Starter tier). FineDine offers a free trial on its paid plans, but no permanent free tier. If you want to evaluate without paying, MenuTiger's free tier or Menujo's free plan are alternatives that don't require a credit card to start.
Which has better multi-language support?
FineDine is clearer on this: AI-generated translation across up to 40 languages, with multiple menu languages on its Growth and Premium tiers. MenuTiger includes multi-language menus on every plan but does not say whether translation is automatic (see MenuTiger's current pricing). For tourist-heavy locations needing 5+ languages, FineDine's automation saves time on every menu update; for restaurants needing one or two languages, MenuTiger (any plan) works, while FineDine needs its Growth or Premium tier for a second menu language.
Can I run FineDine without tablets?
Yes. FineDine's QR menu works on customer phones without requiring tablets. The tablet integration is optional. But you're paying for tablet capabilities (tablet management, hardware integration) regardless of whether you use them. If tablet menus aren't part of your concept, MenuTiger or a display-only platform is structurally cheaper.
Is FineDine worth $18/month for a single café?
Probably not. The $18/month (list) Starter tier includes tablet menus and CRM features that are over-built for a typical café where customers order at the counter. A display-only menu platform like Menujo (free or $7/month) covers the actual workflow at significantly lower cost. FineDine's value is concentrated in fine-dining and hotel use cases where tablet menus and CRM justify the premium.
Does MenuTiger work for fine-dining restaurants?
It can, but the polish doesn't match the dining experience at this tier. Fine-dining guests typically expect premium UI, sommelier-style wine pairing, allergen flagging at the order level, and tableside service depth. MenuTiger's QR-ordering UI feels more casual. For fine-dining concepts, FineDine's polish is worth the price premium.
Can I use AI translation on MenuTiger like FineDine?
MenuTiger includes multi-language menus on every plan, but it does not state whether translation is automatic or entered by you (see MenuTiger's current pricing). FineDine advertises AI translation across up to 40 languages on every tier, with multiple menu languages on Growth and Premium. If AI translation matters to your operation, confirm how MenuTiger handles it before choosing.
Which has better customer CRM?
FineDine includes a guest CRM on every tier (the entry plan keeps the last 10 guests; Growth and Premium add unlimited guests and AI segmentation), plus social-media auto-posting. MenuTiger does not list a CRM by name, though it offers customer reports, surveys and email campaigns (see MenuTiger's current pricing). If CRM matters to your business model (loyalty programs, special-occasion outreach), FineDine is the more complete tool. For operators who don't actively use CRM, neither is necessary.
How does FineDine compare to Toast for restaurants?
FineDine focuses on the customer-facing menu and CRM experience; Toast is a full POS with integrated payments, hardware, kitchen routing, and back-office accounting. They serve different needs: Toast as the POS, FineDine as the menu and CRM layer. Some restaurants use both: Toast for POS, FineDine for the upscale tablet menu experience. Unless you need both roles, one is enough.
Does MenuTiger require a contract?
No. MenuTiger is month-to-month with no contract commitment. You can leave any month. FineDine's annual pricing requires committing for a year (with a discount versus monthly billing); the monthly option is more flexible but more expensive. Both are more flexible than POS platforms like Toast, whose $0 hardware kit comes with a 2-year software agreement.
Which platform integrates with delivery platforms (UberEats, DoorDash)?
Neither publishes much here. FineDine's pricing page names no delivery aggregators (see FineDine's current pricing), and MenuTiger handles delivery through its Zapier integration. For restaurants where delivery is a major revenue stream, evaluate the specific aggregator integrations on each platform's current feature page, since they update frequently.
What if I just want a simple digital menu with no ordering?
Both FineDine and MenuTiger are over-built for this case. The right answer is a display-only platform like Menujo (free or $7/month), purpose-built for menu display without ordering or POS features. Pair with a basic card reader for in-person card payments. Software cost stays under $10 a month, plus processing fees. For deeper coverage, see our 7-platform comparison.
Are there any restaurants that use both FineDine and MenuTiger?
Rarely. They overlap on QR menus and ordering, so one is usually enough. A multi-concept restaurant group could run FineDine for its upscale concepts and MenuTiger for its casual concepts under the same ownership. For single-concept operators, picking one based on positioning (premium vs casual) is cleaner.
Quick Decision Framework
Three concept-positioning questions:
- Are you fine-dining, upscale-casual, or hotel restaurant? FineDine. The polish, tablet menus, AI translation, and CRM justify the premium.
- Are you QSR, casual, café, or food truck doing QR ordering? MenuTiger Regular at $17/month. Cheaper, casual-positioned, free tier to test.
- Are you display-only (customers order verbally, payment at counter)? Menujo + independent card reader. Under $10/month in software plus processing, no over-built capabilities.
Sign up for whichever fits and get your menu live. For broader coverage, see our comparison hub and restaurant-type guides.
Trademark and Affiliation Disclosure
FineDine is a trademark of its respective owner. MenuTiger is a trademark of QR TIGER PTE. LTD. This comparison is published by Menujo (a product of Jorbox LLC) under the doctrine of nominative fair use. Menujo is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by either company. All references to pricing, features, processing rates, and contract terms are based on publicly available information from each platform's official pricing pages at the time of publication. Pricing and terms can change; verify current details directly with each platform before making purchasing decisions.
Pricing and feature details verified against the official FineDine pricing page at the time of publication.
